

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/29/2024

21.03.2024

PRESS NOTE

Commission transfers such DMs & SPs who are not conferred IAS and IPS respectively; transfers 8 non-cadre SPs/SSPs and 5 non-cadre DMs in four states of Gujarat, Punjab, Odisha and West Bengal

Further, wherever relatives of prominent politicians are holding charges as DM/SP, have also been transferred; SSP Bathinda (Punjab) and SP Sonitpur (Assam) transferred

Taking forward its commitment for a level playing field in the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections 2024, the Election Commission of India (ECI) today has issued transfer orders for non-cadre officers who are posted at leadership positions as District Magistrate (DM) and Superintendent of Police (SP) in four states namely Gujarat, Punjab, Odisha and West Bengal. Post of DM and SP in the district are encadred for officers from Indian Administrative and Indian Police Service respectively.

The decision was taken after the commission convened a meeting chaired by Chief ELection Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioners Shri Gyanesh Kumar and Shri Sukhbir Singh Sandhu.

The officers to be transferred are:

- 1. Gujarat SP of Chhota Udaipur and Ahmedabad Rural districts
- 2. Punjab SSP of Pathankot, Fazilka, Jalandhar Rural and Malerkotla districts
- 3. Odisha DM of Dhenkanal and SPs of Deogarh and Cuttack Rural districts
- 4. West Bengal DM of Purba Medinipur, Jhargram, Purba Bardhaman and Birbhum districts

Additionally, the Commission has also directed for transfer of SSP Bathinda in Punjab and SP Sonitpur in Assam in view of their kinship or familial association with the elected political representatives. The officials in these two districts have been transferred as pre-emptive measures to dispel any apprehensions of administration being biased or perceived to be compromised.

Under the directive, all respective state governments have been instructed to promptly transfer non-encadred officers from their current roles as DM and SP/SSP, with immediate effect, and submit a compliance report to the Commission.

Anuj Chandak

Joint Director (Media)

Any Clarket